Spring Pasta at the Carlton Saloon

We had our first successful May GR Dining Co-op dinner last night.  We made pasta with asparagus, chickpeas and sun dried tomatoes tossed in a lemon oil sauce served with a delicious salad and a Schnitz bakery baguette and dipping sauce.  It was so nice to make such a wonderful dinner for this great group of people last night.  The opportunity to cook for 10 doesn’t come up that often and I forgot how much fun it is.  Instead of chopping up a half an onion for a pasta dish for my self or 2 people we need to chop 2 whole onions. My biggest pot was overflowing with this delicious pasta concoction.  And one of the best parts was that I did not have to do any of the clean up.

This is the beauty of the dining co-op; we not only share the enjoyment of eating tasty food but we also share the work to get it all done.  The next dinner I go to I will not have to cook or clean. I can simply go over to Dan’s house tonight after a long day at work and pick up some of the delicious Walnut Quinoa Tacos they are making tonight.  And all this for $3?? or maybe $5 if I never want to be obligated to cooking or cleaning?

It’s been a lot of work to get this Dining Co-op rolling and the co-op, as well as the work, is only just beginning, but the dinner last night gave me confidence that this can work.  Doesn’t matter how big or small or group ends up being, we will still achieve or goal of sharing the work, sharing the cost, and sharing the enjoyment of sharing meals with each other.

Come share a meal with us and find out how you can get involved!

Leave a comment